conversion

What is conversion

For many people the word conversion is unfamiliar, but it is often found in internet marketing. It refers to the ratio of the total number of visitors to a website to the number of those who have taken targeted actions. Such actions include registration, purchase, comments, feedback and so on. Conversion is expressed as a percentage and is calculated using a simple formula: the number of targeted actions on the site divided by the number of visitors per day and multiplied by 100 percent. And if 15 people registered for a day and at the same time the site was visited by 120 people, the conversion rate will be equal to 15/120 * 100% = 12.5.

Conversion is one of the most important indicators in marketing. It is used to determine the quality and success of the advertising campaign, the presence of certain shortcomings that prevent increasing the number of clients, and much more.

The main difference between conversion rate and CTR

Not only ordinary users but also some experts in internet marketing confuse conversion rate and CTR. And while the first concept is familiar to us, the second refers to clickability or the ratio of the number of impressions to the number of clicks. So, if an ad banner is seen by 300 users but only 80 click-throughs are received, CTR will be 80/300*100=26.6

What is conversion

You can increase the conversion rate

If the conversion rate is good, it indicates the effectiveness of the site. That is, users visit it and take many active actions. But if the conversion rate is bad, how can you increase it? You can start with a few of the most effective options:

  1. Be able to interest the potential buyer. Customers need to be shown that this is the company they should work with, and only this company has unique content.
  2. Constantly update the material. Customers should always receive maximum information about products and services.
  3. Keep an eye on the appearance of the site. It should be modern and clear. There is no need to burden visitors with a lot of unnecessary information, advertising and so on. It is important that visitors easily find exactly what they need.
  4. Automatic personalisation. Thanks to that every potential customer will find a product or service he is interested in.
  5. Reputation. Without it all other things are practically useless. A company must have a positive reputation. This will allow the visitor to make a quicker decision and use the services.
  6. Feedback form. Important for increasing conversions. Visitors should understand that they can always communicate with representatives of the company and get from them all the information they need. At the same time, you need to make customers themselves to share their contact information.
  7. Competent text. All the text information on the website should be understandable for users and written with CEO requirements in mind.

Conversion level

In addition, it is necessary to take into account the level of conversion. After all, not everyone understands what it is for and what it is. Simply put, conversion rate is a measure of the success of a marketing campaign. It can be used to analyze the company’s activities, find its shortcomings and identify ways of eliminating them.

It is worth understanding that conversion is now understood differently in different areas. But in any case, in internet marketing it is considered the main indicator of the success of the entrepreneur. In addition, the conversion largely depends on the promotion of the site. And vice versa. Therefore, it is important to act competently when carrying out work on SEO-promotion. If you do it right, you will not only increase traffic, but also increase the conversion rate.