For many people the word conversion is unfamiliar, but it is often found in internet marketing. It refers to the ratio of the total number of visitors to a website to the number of those who have taken targeted actions. Such actions include registration, purchase, comments, feedback and so on. Conversion is expressed as a percentage and is calculated using a simple formula: the number of targeted actions on the site divided by the number of visitors per day and multiplied by 100 percent. And if 15 people registered for a day and at the same time the site was visited by 120 people, the conversion rate will be equal to 15/120 * 100% = 12.5.
Conversion is one of the most important indicators in marketing. It is used to determine the quality and success of the advertising campaign, the presence of certain shortcomings that prevent increasing the number of clients, and much more.
Not only ordinary users but also some experts in internet marketing confuse conversion rate and CTR. And while the first concept is familiar to us, the second refers to clickability or the ratio of the number of impressions to the number of clicks. So, if an ad banner is seen by 300 users but only 80 click-throughs are received, CTR will be 80/300*100=26.6
If the conversion rate is good, it indicates the effectiveness of the site. That is, users visit it and take many active actions. But if the conversion rate is bad, how can you increase it? You can start with a few of the most effective options:
In addition, it is necessary to take into account the level of conversion. After all, not everyone understands what it is for and what it is. Simply put, conversion rate is a measure of the success of a marketing campaign. It can be used to analyze the company’s activities, find its shortcomings and identify ways of eliminating them.
It is worth understanding that conversion is now understood differently in different areas. But in any case, in internet marketing it is considered the main indicator of the success of the entrepreneur. In addition, the conversion largely depends on the promotion of the site. And vice versa. Therefore, it is important to act competently when carrying out work on SEO-promotion. If you do it right, you will not only increase traffic, but also increase the conversion rate.